Spanish Faster

Spanish Language School with an Accelerated Learning method providing Online Spanish Lessons with a private tutor since 2011

CEFR | Common European Framework of Reference

The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages, abbreviated as CEFR, is a guideline used to describe achievements of learners of foreign languages across Europe and, increasingly, in other countries. 

It was put together by the Council of Europe. Its main aim is to provide a method of learning, teaching and assessing which applies to all languages in Europe. Its six reference levels are becoming widely accepted as the European standard for grading an individual's language proficiency.

The Common European Framework divides learners into three broad divisions which can be further divided into six levels:

A. Basic Speaker

  • A1   Breakthrough or Beginner
  • A2   Waystage or Elementary

B. Independent Speaker

  • B1   Threshold or Intermediate
  • B2   Vantage or Upper Intermediate

C. Proficient Speaker

  • C1   Effective Operational Proficiency or Advanced
  • C2   Mastery or Proficiency 

CEFR Levels

The CEFR describes what a learner is supposed to be able to do in reading, listening, speaking and writing at each level. Click below for a description for each CEFR Level:  

Download Common European Framwork of Reference